Akufo-Addo administers oath to 24 new ministers and deputy ministers

Cindy Selasi Humade Selasi Humade
Cindy Selasi Humade Selasi Humade
3 Min Read

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has inaugurated 24 new ministers and deputy ministers.

In a brief ceremony at the Jubilee House, President Akufo-Addo urged the new ministers to assist him in fulfilling his mandate to provide citizens with opportunities for growth and prosperity.

He called on the new appointees to work diligently with him to meet the promises made to the people of Ghana.

While administering the Oaths of Office, Secrecy, and Allegiance, President Akufo-Addo expressed his confidence that the appointees would make significant contributions in the final seven months of his presidency.

He emphasized the importance of promptly filing their asset declarations and maintaining integrity in their public duties.

Parliament approved the ministers’ nominations on Friday, May 17, 2024.

The newly sworn-in ministers include Mrs. Abena Osei-Asare, Minister of State for the Ministry of Finance; Andrew Kofi Egyapa Mercer, Minister for Tourism, Arts, and Culture; Lydia Seyram Alhassan, Minister for Sanitation and Water Resources; and Martin Kwaku Adjei-Mensah Korsah, Minister for Local Government, Rural Development, and Decentralisation.

Other ministers are Ophelia Mensah Hayford, Minister for Environment, Science, Technology, and Innovation; Darkoa Newman, Minister for Gender, Children, and Social Protection; Dr. Bernard Okoe-Boye, Minister for Health; and Fatimatu Abubakar, Minister for Information.

Nii Kwartei Titus Glover and Daniel Machator were also sworn in as Regional Ministers for Greater Accra and Oti, respectively.

The 14 Deputy Ministers who were sworn in include Dr. Benjamin Sekyere Yeboah, Deputy Minister for Gender, Children, and Social Protection; Sylvester Tetteh, Deputy Minister for Information; Charles Acheampong, Deputy Minister for Communications and Digitisation; and Adelaide Ntim, Deputy Minister for Health. Others are Alexander Akwasi Acquah, also a Deputy Minister for Health; Vincent Ekow Assafuah, Deputy Minister for Local Government, Rural Development, and Decentralisation; and John Kobina Abbam Aboah Sanie, Deputy Minister for Energy.

Additional Deputy Ministers include Collins Adomako Mensah, Deputy Minister for Energy; Dr. Prince Hamidu Armah, Deputy Minister for Works and Housing; Professor Kingsley Nyarko, Deputy Minister for Education; and Dr. Festus Awuah Kwofie, Deputy Minister for Employment, Labour Relations, and Pensions. Also included are Akwasi Konadu, Deputy Minister for Lands and

Natural Resources; Musah Abdul Aziz Ayaba, Deputy Minister for Fisheries and Aquaculture Development; and Dr. Alexander Ampaabeng, Deputy Minister for Finance.

Share This Article
Leave a comment