NPP Primaries: Flagbearship aspirants sign MoU to prevent breakaway from party

Radio Univers
Radio Univers
2 Min Read

In preparation for their primaries on Saturday 4 November, the New Patriotic Party (NPP) has issued the signing of an undertaking for all four aspiring flagbearers.

The Memorandum of Understanding (MoU), which was signed by the four aspirants, Kennedy Agyapong, Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia, Addai Nimoh, and Dr. Afriyie Akoto was a step to avoiding a step down from the race or break away from the party should the aspirants lose the primaries.

This development came as a result of the withdrawal of former NPP member and flagbearer aspirant, Alan Kyeremateng from the NPP Flagbearership race. His withdrawal was due to what he described as biases within the party in terms of flagbearership.

In a media engagement, Director for Elections and Research for NPP, Evans Nimako stated that aspirants were not coerced in having the agreement, as they willingly signed the undertaking.

“The presidential candidates were not coerced. They did so voluntarily. They did this to assure the party once again that they support the party and wish all party members well in all endeavors towards Election 2024. ”

Mr. Nimako also stated that no matter the outcome on Saturday’s primaries, NPP would remain a strong political party. He explained that the agreement was also a way to demonstrate the party’s strength and unity.

”The essence of this exercise is to communicate to the party rank and stuff that whatever the outcome of Saturday 4th November’s primary, the New Patriotic Party is focused, united, together with all the alacrity enough to prosecute Elections in 2024 and come out with victorious colours”.

The elections, which will be held on November 4, tomorrow is set to decide on a presidential candidate for the NPP in the 2024 general elections.

Story by : Joycelyn Makafui Agbo |

Share this Article
Leave a comment