NPP flagbearer race: Ken Agyapong picks number one, Bawumia number two

Sika Togoh
Sika Togoh
2 Min Read

The New Patriotic Party has held the ballot exercise for the upcoming Delegates Congress scheduled for November 4, 2023 to elect a flagbearer who leads the party in the next year’s General Election.

The exercise was smoothly organized and supervised by the party’s Elections committee chaired by the venerable Prof Aaron Mike Ocquaye for the 4 contestants remaining in the race after the withdrawal of Former Trade and Industry Minister, Alan Kyeremanten.

The event took place today September 13 , 2023 at the Party Headquarters in the capital , Accra.

Kennedy Ohene Agyapong , the MP for Assin Central, has retained the the number one position on the ballot as the New Patriotic Party (NPP) prepares for its 4 November presidential primary.

Vice-President Mahamudu Bawumia picked the number two spot on the ballot paper.

Owusu Afriyie Akoto and Francis Addai-Nimoh picked the third and fourth positions, respectively.

Balloting for the NPP presidential primary, organized by the Electoral Commission (EC) and the party’s election committee, involved four aspirants only, after the withdrawal of the former trade and industry minister Alan Kyerematen from the flagbearer race.

In a statement issued on Wednesday (13 September), the NPP said: “… the presidential election committee of the NPP had a productive interactive session with the four contestants for the party’s presidential primaries slated for Saturday, 4 November 2023.

“The elections committee, in collaboration with officials from the Electoral Commission of Ghana, successfully conducted the balloting for the contestants,” it said.

Share this Article
Leave a comment