Patrick Kusi Adu, 7 others elected to lead USAG

Frederick Kunzote-Ani
Frederick Kunzote-Ani
2 Min Read

A new crop of leadership has been elected to manage the affairs of the University Students’ Association of Ghana (USAG).

The elections for the newly elected leadership took place during the association’s 22nd Annual Delegate Congress, which was held at the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (KNUST) on Saturday, September 2nd, 2023.

The keenly and fiercely contested elections saw Patrick Kusi Adu coming out victorious as the president-elect of the association. Wellington Antoinette was elected General Secretary with Nafisatu Fonda emerging as the Women’s Commissioner elect.

A total of approximately 1300 votes were cast to select the fresh wave of leaders for the union.

Here is a breakdown of the final election results for contesting positions in the Union.


Swanzy Emmanuel: 271
Isaac Aryeteey: 177
Patrick Kusi Adu 360
Micheal Tetteh: 86
Rejected: 1
Total: 895

General Secretary

Wellington Antoanette: 468
Akosah Emmanuel Brempong: 426
Total votes: 894

Women’s Commissioner

Alice Yakubu: 233
Nafisatu Fonda: 322
Mariam Yussif Saeed: 43
Esther Acquah Benson 247
Rejected: 6
Total votes cast: 851

Press and Information Secretary

Sandra Opokuah: 381
Bawa Iddrisu: 506
Total: 8
Rejected: 895

Coordinating Secretary

Enoch Gbogbo (Yes): 823
Enoch Gbogno (No): 69
Rejected: 9
Total votes cast: 901

Financial Controller

Emmanuel Agyei: 414
Boniface Opoku Agyemang: 469
Rejected: 19
Total votes cast: 902


Antwi Osei Addy: 474
Awal Sually: 420
Rejected: 7
Total votes: 901

International and Diaspora Relations Secretary

Frimpong Enoch Kwabena: 418
Appiah Reuben Emmanuel: 466
Rejected: 17‏
Total votes: 901

Story by : Fredrick Kunzote-Ani | 

Share this Article
Leave a comment