NPP cancels run-off in flagbearer contest following Boakye Agyarko’s withdrawal

Sika Togoh
Sika Togoh
3 Min Read

The governing New Patriotic Party (NPP) has decided to call off its scheduled run-off election, which was set for September 2, 2023, to resolve the tie between two flagbearer hopefuls, Francis Addai-Nimoh and Boakye Agyarko .

This decision comes after Boakye Agyarko withdrew from the race.

In a letter addressed to Boakye Agyarko, Prof. Aaron Mike Oquaye, Chairman of the NPP’s Presidential Elections Committee, conveyed the party’s acknowledgement of Agyarko’s withdrawal and announced the cancellation of the run-off election.

Agyarko refrained from the contest, alleging that the party had breached the provisions of its constitution. In his letter dated August 31, 2023, he stated, “I refuse to be a part of such an act that seeks to unjustly truncate a previously agreed-upon process, and cannot be part of what is about to be done on Saturday, 2nd September 2023.”

He further expressed his inability to participate “with a clear conscience” in light of the party’s decision and wished the party well.

The NPP held a super delegates conference  on August 26 to reduce its flagbearer hopefuls from ten to five. Vice President Dr. Mahammudu Bawumia emerged as the top candidate with 629 votes, representing 68.15% of the vote. secured 132 votes (14.30%), while former Trade Minister Alan Kyeremanten  obtained 95 votes (10.29%). Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akotogarnered 36 votes (3.90%).

Following the super delegates conference, the NPP initially announced a run-off to be held on September 2, 2023, to determine the fate of Boakye Agyarko and Francis Addai-Nimoh, who each received nine (9) votes.

However, the party later clarified that only members of its National Council would participate in the run-off, citing time and cost considerations. Agyarko expressed dissatisfaction with this decision.

With Agyarko’s withdrawal, the NPP has identified five aspirants for the November 4 presidential election: Mahamudu Bawumia, Ken Ohene Agyapong, Alan John Kwadwo Kyerematen, Owusu Afriyie Akoto, and Francis Addai-Nimoh.

Prof. Oquaye conveyed the party’s gratitude to Agyarko for his engagement and communication on the matter and emphasized the Committee’s commitment to transparency and fairness in its operations.

Share this Article
Leave a comment