Prez Akuffo Addo appoints 5 member ex-gratia committee

Sika Togoh
Sika Togoh
3 Min Read

President Akuffo Addo has established a five-member committee tasked with determining the compensation and benefits for Article 71 office holders in Ghana.

Headed by a former chairperson of the Public Services Commission, Dr. Janet Fofie, the committee will also assess the salaries and allowances of political office holders, or any other positions as deemed appropriate by the constitution.

During the committee’s inauguration, President Akufo-Addo highlighted the ongoing public discussions concerning the remuneration of public officials, especially focusing on Article 71 office holders.

He emphasized the importance of evaluating whether the current compensation aligns with constitutional mandates and if adjustments are warranted given the economic challenges the nation faces.

President Akufo-Addo urged the committee to address these concerns and provide recommendations for their resolution.

The committee comprises the following members:

Dr. Janet Fofie – Chairperson
Prof. Gyan Baffour – Member
Dr. Osei-Akoto – Member
Madam Gloria Ofori Buodu – Member
Mr. Ben Arthur – Member

Ex-gratia is given to government employees (Article 71 office holders)in Ghana every four years when a certain government  has served its full tenure.

It is a phenomenon that has become synonymous with the 4th Republican era of Ghana amidst growing concerns from the citizens over the years.

The terms of reference of the Committee are to make recommendations in respect of emoluments and other privileges for article 71 office holders, as specified under the Constitution; and to examine any other relevant matter which the Committee deems appropriate to its work.

Article 71 (1) and (2) of the 1992 Constitution stipulates that the determination of the salaries and allowances of the Executive, the Legislature, and the Judiciary paid from the Consolidated Fund would be determined by the President, on the recommendations of a committee of not more than five persons appointed by him and acting upon the advice of the Council of State.

In determining the salaries of the President, his Ministers, and political appointees, as well as the members of the Council of State, the Constitution states that Parliament will determine that based on the advice of the same committee.

Article 71 officeholders include the President, the Vice-President, the Speaker of Parliament, the Chief Justice, and the Justices of the Supreme Court.

The rest are Members of Parliament (MPs), Ministers of State, political appointees, and public servants with salaries charged to the Consolidated Fund but enjoying special constitutional privileges.

Share this Article
Leave a comment