NPP Flagbearership Race: Addai-Nimoh, Boakye Agyarko head for run off

Radio Univers
Radio Univers
2 Min Read

Candidates in the just ended New Patriotic Party (NPP) Special Delegates Conference, Francis Addai-Nimoh and Boakye Agyarko will be heading for a run off election scheduled on September 2, 2023.

This comes after Francis Addai-Nimoh and Boakye Agyarko, who were part of the candidates in this year’s NPP Special Delegates Conference secured the same number of votes, leading to a tie in total casted votes.

The NPP Super delegates Conference, which was held on 26th of August, 2023 was aimed at selecting five Presidential candidates from the ten candidates who showed interest in the flagbearership race of the NPP.

Both candidates, Addai-Nimoh and Agyarko attained a total of 9 votes, affording them the fifth position in the ranking of candidates’ to be selected for the flagbearership race. Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia placed first after securing a total votes of 629 followed by Kennedy Agyapong who placed second after securing a total of 132 votes.

On the other hand, Alan Kwadwo Kyeremanteng placed third after securing a total of 95 votes with Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto placing fourth after securing a total of 36 votes.

The total votes cast amounted to a 6 from the delegates nationwide.

The run off between the two candidates, Addai-Nimoh and Agyarko  will determine which candidate would be selected to contest at the NPP Flagbearership race in November along with the four higher ranking candidates.

Story by | Akwasi Gyamfi | 

Share this Article
Leave a comment