#UGDecides: Tsikata-Zanyoh, others elected to lead SRC

Radio Univers
Radio Univers
3 Min Read

The University of Ghana School Student Representative Council elections has seen its potential new crop of executives for the next academic year.

The elections which took place on Friday  18th August, 2023, left an indelible mark in the institution’s history. Despite a few obstacles encountered in the initial phase of the elections, many students actively participated in the selection of their future leaders.

The election was originally slated to commence at 8:00am and conclude at 6:00pm. However, a delay in the release of the voting links to students across campus caused a temporal hiccup, compelling the elections to be rescheduled to start at 9:00am. As a results of this delay, extension of deadline was shifted from the initial 6pm to 11pm.

With a total number of 65,901 eligible voters, only 16,185 people voted in the SRC elections.

The SRC election had candidates vying for the various influencial positions within the council.

The presidential portfolio attracted four individuals each backed by their respective vice, whilst the general secretary position saw seven contestants. The treasurer portfolio however had only two contestants.

At the end of the elections, Team Tsikata-Zanyoh, consisting of Presidential Candidate Frank Tsikata and his running mate Edward Zanyoh were elected as SRC President and Vice President respectively through a historical 10,061 votes (61.9%).

Suleman Awudu was also elected SRC treasurer with a total number of 9169 votes (56.7%).

There will hower be a run off between General Secretary Candidates, Lady Bernadette Seyram Azah and Martha Bruwaa Asiamah who had 19.5% and 45% of the total votes respectively on Tuesday, 22nd August, 2023.

The election results were as follows:

President and Vice President

Frank Tsikata and Edward Zanyoh – 10,061 (61.9%)

Odartey Lamptey and Justice Alor – 3276 ( 20.2%)

Hamza Kwame Sahadu and Akakuko Ayimbota – 1393 (8.6%)

Osei Kofi Kingsley and Sarah Sam Ankrah – 1021 (6.3%)

General Secretary

Lady Bernadette Seyram Azah – 3164 (19.5%)

Patricia Bobie Derry – 614 (3.8%)

Vanessa Agbleode – 868 (5.4%)

Martha Bruwaa Asiamah – 7278 (45%)

Sandra Amponsah Yeboah – 1562 (9.7%)

Lawrencia Owusu – 1940 (12%)

Addy Daniella Owusu – 431 (2.7%)


Lawrence Ofosu – 6430 (39.7%)

Suleman Awudu – 9169 (56.7)

The following image contains the results from the elections.

Story by | Hussein Habibata Maltiti | univers.ug.edu.gh 

Share this Article
Leave a comment