AFCON 2023 Qualifier: Fred Pappoe confident of Ghana’s win against Madagascar 

Radio Univers
Radio Univers
2 Min Read

Former Ghana Football Association (GFA) vice president Fred Pappoe has expressed confidence in the Black Stars’ ability to defeat their Malagasy counterparts in the penultimate tie of the 2023 African Cup of Nation (AFCON) qualifiers.

Pappoe reiterated the significance of the upcoming match while remaining realistic about the challenges the team might encounter.

In an exclusive interview with Univers Sports, the veteran football administrator acknowledged football’s unpredictability. He however reckoned that with the quality of the technical staff, Ghanaians should anticipate a successful outcome.

“Madagascar were quite good during the AFCON in Cameroon but after that I have seen they’ve had some one or two stumbles here and there but that’s football at any point in time things can come up with a surprise but I’ve a very good confidence in our squad and technical leadership and the overall leadership of the team. I am quite sure they will come up with a good result.’’

The Black Stars have been training in Accra since Monday in preparation for their match against the whipping boys of the group. Ghana is on top of Group E with 8 points ahead of Central Africa Republic (7 points), Angola (5 points) and Madagascar (1 point). Ghana has won twice and drew the other two.

The Black Stars left the shores of Ghana on Friday afternoon and arrived in the Madagascan capital at 1am Saturday June 17.

The four-time African Champions held their official training at the Mahamasina Municipal stadium at 14hrs GMT on Sunday, 18th June.

24 players travelled on Friday. They include:

Goalkeepers: Lawrence Ati-Zigi, Abdul Manaf Nurudeen, Joseph Wollaccott

Defenders: Denis Odoi, Alidu Seidu, Daniel Amartey, Joseph Addo, Nicholas Opoku, Kasim Adams, Patrick Kpozo

Midfielders: Mohammed Kudus, Thomas Partey, Salis Abdul Samed, Edmund Addo, Majeed Ashimeru

Attackers: Joseph Painstil, Osman Bukari, Kamal Deen Sulemana, Ernest Nuamah, Ransford Yeboah Koningsdorffer, Andre Ayew, Jordan Ayew, Kwasi Okyere Wreidt, Hafiz Konkoni.

Story by | Rashad Usman Sinah |

Share this Article
Leave a comment