Afcon 23′: Baba Rahman out as Chris Hughton names 25-man squad for Angola clash

Benjamin Sackey
Benjamin Sackey
3 Min Read

Chris Hughton, head coach of the Black Stars has selected a 25-man squad for the upcoming 2023 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifier against Angola.

In the upcoming international window, Ghana will play two games against Angola with a spot at the upcoming AFCON on the line. The first leg of the encounter is scheduled for Thursday, March 23 with the second leg coming off four days later.

The 25-man squad features no home based player. The former Brighton and Hove Albion manager who took charge of the Black Stars on February 12, has made some notable omissions and some interesting inclusions.

Joseph Paintsil makes his return to the Black Stars after missing out on the FIFA World Cup in Qatar, the forward is having the best season of his career with 11 goals and 10 assists in the Belgian League this season.

FC Sheriff left back Patrick Kpozo makes the squad, he was also in the preliminary squad for Qatar. Kpozo has featured in the Champions League, Europa League and the former Ghana U20 international is yet to feature for the Black Stars.

Majeed Ashimeru makes his return to the Black Stars for the first time since 2021, the midfielder continues to be vital for Anderlecht this season.

Hamburger SV forward Ransford Yeboah Konigsdorffer has scored 7 goals in 21 appearances for the Bundesliga 2 side.

There was however no place for the likes of Baba Abdul Rahman, Ibrahim Danlad, Abdul Fatawu Ishahaku and Afriyie Barnieh all of whom made it to Qatar whiles Injury concerns has sidelined Daniel Kofi Kyere and Alidu Seidu.

Hughton settled on three goalkeepers, eight defenders, nine midfielders/wingers and five attackers to face Angola in the doubleheader.

Here is the full list.
Goalkeepers: Lawrence Ati Zigi (FC St. Gallen), Abdul Manaf Nurudeen (Eupen), Joseph Wollacott (Charlton Athletic)

Defenders: Tariq Lamptey (Brighton and Hove Albion), Denis Odoi (Club Brugge), Gideon Mensah (Auxerre), Patrick Kpozo (Sheriff Tiraspol), Daniel Amartey (Leicester City), Joseph Aidoo (Celta Vigo), Mohammed Salisu (Southampton FC), Alexander Djiku (Strasbourg)

Midfielders: Thomas Partey (Arsenal FC), Majeed Ashimeru (RSC Anderlecht), Abdul Salis Samed (Lens), Edmund Addo (Spartak Subotica)

Wingers: Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace), Osman Bukari (Red Star Belgrade), Joseph Painstil (Genk), Kamal Deen Sulemana (Southampton FC), Ransford Yeboah Königsdörffer (Hamburger SV)

Forwards: Mohammed Kudus (Ajax Amsterdam), Andre Ayew (Nottingham Forest), Kamal Sowah (Club Brugge), Inaki Williams (Athletic Bilbao), Antoine Semenyo (AFC Bournemouth)

Story by: Rashad Usman Sinnah

Share this Article
Leave a comment