Seven-member board of GRASAG-UG development fund inaugurated

Radio Univers
Radio Univers
3 Min Read

The Pro Vice-Chancellor in charge of Student and Academic Affairs, Prof. Gordon Awandare has inaugurated a seven-member Board for GRASAG-UG Development Fund.

The Board has been tasked to oversee the operations of the Fund, which was established by UG-GRASAG, under the leadership of President Christiana Adu, to fund capital expenditure projects critical to the welfare of Graduate Students at the University of Ghana. Currently, the Fund’s primary focus is the construction of a 2000-bed capacity Graduate Student Hostel.

In giving his remarks, Prof. Awandare commended the student leadership for the initiative and urged GRASAG-UG members to support the objectives of the Fund. He reiterated the Vice-Chancellor’s vision of improving the student experience by providing world-class teaching and learning facilities. He noted that when students enjoy their experience on campus, they form a bond with the school, allowing them to return in the future to give back to the school.

He acknowledged the current campus housing crisis, which he described as unique challenge that the University Management was prepared to address through creative means.

Mrs. Nelly Abosti, Chairperson of the GRASAG-UG Development Fund Board, expressed her heartfelt gratitude to the GRASAG executives for the opportunity to serve.

She stated that the Board has been charged with improving and expanding on the existing infrastructure in order to improve students’ experiences on campus.

She noted that one of the strategies the Board will employ is to target various stakeholders who will help the Board achieve its objectives.

She also urged members of the Board and GRASAG to work together to ensure the successful execution of its mandate.

Prof. Rosina Kyeremanten, Dean of Student Affairs, praised GRASAG for establishing the Fund, which aims to alleviate Graduate Students’ difficulties in obtaining hostel accommodation. She urged the Board to expedite the construction of hostel facilities as promised.

The seven-member Board is made up of Mrs. Nelly Abochie as Chairperson, Prof. Rosina Kyeremanten, Dean of Student Affairs; Prof. Robert Darko-Osei, Dean, School of Graduate Studies; Mr. Samuel Osei-Mensah, Students’ Accountant; Ms. Christiana Adu, Initiating Executive Council President; Mr. Nicodemus N.D.B. Derry, Elder Statesman of GRASAG-UG; Mr. John-Mark Bekui, IMC Chairperson.

Also present at the event were Mrs. Emelia Agyei Mensah, Registrar; Mr. Dennis Frimpong, former Vice President, GRASAG-UG; former executives of GRASAG-UG; JCR Presidents; Elder Statesmen and SRC Representatives.


Share this Article
Leave a comment